Georges Department Store was established in 1880 within Melbourne's CBD, and owners William and Arthur George enjoyed great success as the store became one of Melbourne's elite shopping locations.

The business continued to grow, and in 1889 the store moved to the "Paris" end of Collins Street, into what is now known as one of the most iconic buildings in Melbourne. At the height of Melbourne's Gold Rush years, Georges Department Store was one of the finest places to shop.

As one of the first stores to introduce lifts and a cash discount system, Georges was also a pioneer in the Australian retail sector.

While the Georges Department store may have ceased trading in 1995, the legacy of the store has undoubtedly lived on. This historic landmark's most recent tenants have built on William and Arthur's foundations, and style-conscious consumers still flock to its doors.

Current occupants of the Georges building include high-end hair salon Toni & Guy, popular nightspot The Longroom, stylish shoe store Dolce Firme, and renowed Reader's Feast Book Store, which has been trading in Melbourne for over 20 years.